For Australia skill migration, one of the main requirements is to have a skilled occupation, therefore, your occupation must belong to one of the occupation lists. The occupation lists show the different occupations that you can find in the Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations (ANZSCO).

There are 3 different lists, and occupations are grouped into one of these lists. However, some occupations do not belong to any of these lists, and therefore are not available to use for visa applicants. These occupations are not in demand in Australia at this time. Occupations in these lists do change over time.

The 3 Occupation Lists

  1. Short Term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL)
  2. Medium and Long-Term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL)
  3. Regional Occupation List (ROL)

The 3 lists also have an impact on what visas you can apply. Of the 3 lists, occupations in the MLTSSL is the most versatile. For example, for points-tested skill migration visas (such as Subclass 189 Independent, Subclass 190 State Nomination, and Subclass 491 State Nomination or Family Sponsored), MLTSSL occupations are available to all of these visa subclasses. However, the next occupation list, STSOL, is available only to Subclass 190 and Subclass 491 State Nomination visas. Finally, occupation list, ROL, is available only to Subclass 491 State Nomination. An example of MLTSSL occupation is Accountant (General); an example of STSOL occupation is Hairdresser, and an example of ROL occupation is Dairy Cattle Farmer. Therefore, it is important to know which occupation list your occupation belongs to as this affects which visa you can apply.

These occupation lists do change over time, but currently, the table below shows how many occupations are categorized in each of the 3 occupation lists.

Occupation ListsNo. of Occupations

Contact us at Tanson Migration to find out more.

Start today – take the free initial assessment.

Check out our latest updates