Announcement of new Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List (PMSOL)

On 2nd of September, 2020, the Australian government has released a new occupation list called Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List (PMSOL). This list currently consists of 17 occupations listed below and is focused in the different sectors (namely health care, construction and IT sectors) to assist in the Australia’s economic response to COVID-19. Visa holders who have been sponsored by an Australian business in this list can request an exemption from Australia’s travel restrictions, but will still be subject to the 14 days quarantine upon arrival. The government also says priority in processing will be given to those in this new list.

The 17 occupations (ANZSCO code) are:

  • Chief Executive or Managing Director (111111)
  • Construction Project Manager (133111)
  • Mechanical Engineer (233512)
  • General Practitioner (253111)
  • Resident Medical Officer (253112)
  • Psychiatrist (253411)
  • Medical Practitioner nec (253999)
  • Midwife (254111)
  • Registered Nurse (Aged Care) (254412)
  • Registered Nurse (Critical Care and Emergency) (254415)
  • Registered Nurse (Medical) (254418)
  • Registered Nurse (Mental Health) (254422)
  • Registered Nurse (Perioperative) (254423)
  • Registered Nurses nec (254499)
  • Developer Programmer (261312)
  • Software Engineer (261313)
  • Maintenance Planner (312911)

Source: Ministers for the Department of Home Affairs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.